Whilst browsing the internet for musical goodies yesterday, I came across a band called The Twilight Sad. The name immediately conjured up images of a large gathering of Twilight fans, a collection of Twihards if you will, and it amused me greatly. The only logical thing to do, was tweet my amusement to the world.

Of course, The Twilight Sad are on Twitter, they (or whoever runs their account) picked up on my tweet and re-tweeted it, much to the non-amusement of their fans it would appear. I woke up this morning to a torrent (well 4) of abuse (well, pointed suggestions that I should maybe listen to the music) from their avid following.

I have to say of all the possible repercussions of my tweet I could imagine (1) this was not it.

So, to appease their fans, I went off to listen to some of their music.

I’ll start with their name, which is what got me into trouble in the first place. Apart from conjuring up images of Twihards, which to be fair, not their fault, The Twilight Sad is a poignant, beautiful, dark and sad (in the correct sense of the word) name, it’s just unfortunate that Twilight will forever mean something else to a whole horde of tweeners and housewives; admittedly probably not the band’s target audience.

The Twilight Sad are on the dark side of indie, with dirty guitars, darkly melodic keyboards and a heavy-accented Scottish singer that puts me in mind of Glasvegas. Their music would fit nicely alongside the goth era of the late 70s/early 80s, bands such as Bauhaus, Joy Division, The Sisters of Mercy, early Cure and Fields of The Nephilim are surely influences. Very much in the vein of White Lies, but not quite as melodramatic and over produced and, unlike White Lies, they have not added anything new (other than the Scottish accent) to make the music unique to them.

Overall I did enjoy their music, but after a while it became rather samey, and kind of depressing, which is probably why, with the exception of The Cure, I could never listen to those other bands for more than a song or two at a time.

You can check them out for yourselves at www.myspace.com/thetwilightsad.

