Browsing through some of my old blogs, I came across, Retrospective, where I talk about often Good Things often rise from the ashes of The Worst Thing Ever, how I had yet to find the Good Thing that would come out of my Worst Thing Ever” and actually could not even see a time where that would be the case.

Whilst reading that blog, I came to the realisation that now, almost seven months later, I can at last see a future where one day, not now, but one day, if it comes off, I will be able to look back and say, ‘Gee, having ME was the worst period of my life, but, you know, if that hadn’t happened to me, I wouldn’t be at this point in my life now.’

As I may have mentioned, I find myself being made redundant, the fact that I have been “selected for redundancy” as work will have it, is directly related to my ill health. And here’s the thing:

If I hadn’t got ill, I would still be working full time, I would have continued being a trainer, I would in all likelihood be “acting up” as a supervisor, if I wasn’t actually a supervisor, and as such I would have lots and lots of extra shiny points on the “selection matrix” and not nearly so many naughty sick days. So today, I would not be facing redundancy and an uncertain future. I would not be looking at alternative careers, I would not have stumbled across Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) and I would not be excitedly planning a future where I travel the world. For a living.

Of course, there are lots of hurdles between now and getting to that point, I have yet to take (and pass) the course, and then there’s the pesky business of actually gaining employment in my chosen new career. Mere trivialities. The point is, in seven months I have gone from bleak and despondent, to having a glimmer of hope.

I am never going to look back fondly on my time as a grumpy, whiny, depressed, sick person, but maybe one day I will view those awful years as just a blip in an otherwise fulfilling life. Just maybe.

