So today I got the hilarious news. I am getting made redundant. For the first time in 19 years, I face unemployment. As things stand at the moment I still have a job until September, but the situation is, as always, fluid.

I had a little cry when I first got the news, but I think at that point I would have cried whatever the news had been, handily helped along by the monthly curse. Then a huge weight rose from my shoulders like the big black horrendous cloud it has been these past couple of months, and fluttered off back to whatever hell hole it came from. I suddenly feel like I never thought I would feel again. Free. A world of opportunity spreads before me, and to be quite honest, I don’t know if I want to wait until September to start it.

I actually feel happy, and even a little excited. It’s probably hysteria.

I honestly did not expect to feel like this, I feel like I can started planning again, putting some hopes and dreams into place, when I had sworn off this kind of irrational and irresponsible behaviour just a month ago. It has always been my philosophy that good things often come from the worst situations. My husband lost his job some years ago, just after I started this one, it was devastating at the time, but if he hadn’t lost the job he hated, he would never have become a police officer, something he had wanted to do all his life.

I’m looking at this as an opportunity, and the first thing I’m going to do is book myself on a Teaching English as a Foreign Language course. Just plunging right on in there at the deep end. Traveling is a passion, and if I can do that for money, this whole redundancy thing might just be the greatest thing that ever happened to me, and y’know it doesn’t look so terrible on a CV when I’m ready to settle down and get a proper job back in Blighty.

So, raise a glass to my time at West Yorkshire Police, I’d like to say it was fun while it lasted (and couldn’t it last just a couple months more so I could get a full 11 years in and an extra week’s redundancy pay?), but really, it hasn’t been fun for a long time, and it’s only going to get worse.

