My main music taste is and always has been a great big lean towards the indie side of things. From the time that Indie meant music on an independent record label, through to it being a “brand” or “style” of music as it is now. The bands that are enduring and the ones that I hold close to my heart will, with few exceptions, fall into this category. I guess this comes a lot from the music that was played in the house when I was growing up, which was a whole load of punk, and I followed in my mother’s punk princess footsteps and still love that music today.

I have also always been a fan of electronic music and this was the first music that I discovered for myself. Growing up in the 80s, new wave bands grabbed my attention. Ultravox, early Spandau Ballet, Blancmange, Heaven 17, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Pet Shop Boys to name but a few. When, in the late eighties, dance music burst on to the scene I was a sucker for it, and I still am, for certain genres of it.

It never has, and never will be my first love, but the feeling of being lost in a booming bass beat, with a soaring symphony of keyboards will never be lost on me and will always make me want to head for the dance floor. It releases you to dance with abandon, to feel the music and the bass and nothing more and, in a real dance club, no one is watching, no one cares, everyone is lost in their own moment of bliss. It will never be meaningful, there will rarely be that one song that means the world to me, that I recite the lyrics of all too often on Twitter, but it will always be there in the background, and it will always make me wanna dance. So shoot me.

Many of my peers will mock, but to be fair, the girl who sported a mohican well into the late eighties, really never gave a fuck what her peers thought.

Seventeen and loving it

