After an awesome night in Glasgow I rose early for journey back down to Leeds, got home fairly uneventfully, had the fastest shower and change in the west and headed back out. I arrived at the venue at around two, and had just missed Brandon arriving where he had signed stuff and took pictures. He had said he was coming back out so I hung around the back for about an hour and a half, chatting with security, some of the crew and the support band, until I saw them sneak him out another door and whisk him away in a car. Damn them and their sneakyness.

I did get to hear him soundchecking Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas (which isn’t part of the set list), Crossfire and Only The Young, which made it all worthwhile.

I wasn’t gonna wait until he came back and miss the chance for a good place at the front, so I joined the already growing line. Here I met the lovely Natalie and her Aunt who were just a few places ahead of me, shivered in the cold a lot and eventually made it to the second row in about the same place I was the night before.

It wasn’t too long before Brandon was once more strutting his stuff in front of me once more. The crowd were…. um, let’s just say a less mature one than in Glasgow, there was a lot of hysterical screaming. At one point, where he explains the song, Magdalena, there was one girl just screaming his name over and over, I thought she may be have been genuinely having some kind of fit, or need medical attention in some way. He cut the explanation short and just launched into the song.

Although he smiled when the crowd were screaming, he was a lot less talkative than in Glasgow, just belting out song after song and he didn’t come to the front of the stage nearly as much. I think he was maybe a little scared of the crowd. Still, the songs were amazing and the sound was so much better than in Glasgow, we got the snap dance during Only The Young (no one in the crowd did it though, you’re letting our boy down, Victims) and he played The Clock Was Ticking for the encore, which I don’t think he expected the crowd to know. Silly Brandon. Thankfully, there wasn’t too much screaming during When You Were Young acoustic (I loved the introduction where he explained to the crowd that he was the lead singer of The Killers, no really?), at least for the singing parts, and once more it was over way, way too soon. I’ve definitely been spoiled by The Killers almost two hour set, harder to pull that off when you only have one album out.

I managed to grab the t-shirt I wanted, and headed out back to see if I could get a photo. By the time I got there, there was a large crowd already gathered and I debated on whether to bother waiting or not. I waited for about an hour, and the crowd only seemed to get larger and the support band were out getting a lot of reflected attention.

I should explain here that the gig had to finish early (10pm), because the Academy have a student club night on a Wednesday, which would account for more people being able to wait. After about an hour I overheard the manager come out and start complaining that his staff were being held up because of the people waiting for Brandon and he needed them for his club night. Shortly after this, the barriers were taken away from the stage door and the security disappeared. The rumour was that Brandon would not come out until 3am when the club was finished. I didn’t believe it for one minute, but decided to leave anyway, there were far too many people and I was tired and hungry as I hadn’t eaten since 8 that morning. I had got my autograph at Glasgow and I have two more chances to meet him still.

I got home to lovely, lovely pizza, carefully hand ordered by hubby who had come straight home after the gig as he is working today.

I also got home to the news that Brandon had come out and been mobbed by the crowd to the point where he had been pushed and pulled about. Ack, I’m still finding it hard to keep my cool about this, but I will try and write rationally.

It has really angered me, not so much that the fans would do this, people get excited and everyone wants to get their 30 seconds. I understand that. What they don’t understand of course, is that if they stood back and let him breathe, they might just get their chance. If they mob him and make him feel uncomfortable, he’s just going to leave, and next time…. well there won’t be a next time. But I get that they are young and excitable and it’s not entirely their fault.

The fault, in my mind, lies squarely at the feet of the 02 Academy. Brandon might not be a huge star in the same way that Britney Spears or Lady Gaga is, but The Killers are one of the biggest bands in the world, right now and he has a lot of passionate, passionate fans. He doesn’t travel with a posse of hefty security guards, he keeps things fairly low key. From what I have learned in the last couple of days, he likes to come out and spend a little time with fans, goes a little out of his way to do so, he understands what it’s like to meet your heroes, to be passionate about music.

I get that the 02 isn’t really used to hosting acts as popular as Brandon, it’s a small venue, usually used by up and coming or lesser known bands. Still, you know who you’re booking, if you don’t have the staff to cope with it, you hire more for the night, or you don’t book a band on the same night as your club night.

Taking the security and barriers away was a stupid, stupid thing to do, and I am really, really angry about it. It’s worse because it happened in my town. I’m angry that I live amongst people that would let this happen. I hate that Brandon might now feel he has to have more security, that he can’t come out and talk to people. It’s tainted the memory of the gig for me, and I’m so glad I did not stay around to witness it.

To end on a happier note, I did get to meet a couple of lovely Victims while waiting outside, again I didn’t get names, damnit, and also ran into Rachel and her mum, which was lovely.

Next up, Manchester on Saturday.

