It may not be obviously apparent, but I am a huge Joss Whedon fan; Buffy the Vampire Slayer in particular, as that’s how I was introduced to his world.

At a convention some years ago, a won at auction an invitation to the Buffy the Vampire Slayer 100th episode wrap party. Not to go to the actual party, you understand, I would have been been a couple of years late and I really had nothing to wear.

This isn’t nearly as sucky a it sounds, for the invitation came in the form of a wooden stake with a piece of parchment containing the party particulars bound to it with ribbon. Quite frankly, it rocks, and if anyone sent me an invitation to anything in this manner I would accept even if I knew in advance it was going to be the dullest event in all of dulldom.

The stake has pride of place in my office, as a valued piece of Buffy history, and is now adorned with the autographs of Nicholas Brendon, James Marsters and Clare Kramer.

I like to keep it near to hand, just in case that pesky Edward Cullen stops by. Angel, of course, has a standing invitation.

Stake
Stake

